A Long Time Coming: The Road to 50 Miles

DCIM100SPORT

All week our blog is dedicated to our upcoming race at Outrun 24 on Saturday,  April 26th. The goal is 50 miles at Outrun 24 Hour Trail Race to celebrate G’s 40th birthday. To find out more on how this plan was set in motion, check out Lowi’s blog.

 

It’s hard to believe that the race is almost here. I am really excited, terrified and on the verge of vomiting all at the same time, most of the time. I have convinced myself that’s perfectly normal and that I shouldn’t worry about it. What do you think?

This has been a LONG time coming. I first got this idea from an article in “Ultrarunning” a few years ago so I’ve been percolating on it for a while. And I officially started training, with this in mind, on Nov. 1 2013. I have covered nearly 900 miles in training since then. I have never attempted or completed 50 miles before so I really wanted to be dedicated and committed to the training.

And I think I have been. Some would say there has been some craziness sprinkled in along the way and I wouldn’t disagree. I have experienced the gamut of emotions and gone through breakdowns, all-night training runs, 40-mile weekends and more than a little insomnia.

This of course, often begs the questions from others and myself: Why do this?

It took me a long time to understand and explain why. And while there are many more reasons and motivations that push you forward this explains it best:

“The best moments in our lives, are not the passive, receptive, relaxing times — although such experiences can also be enjoyable, if we have worked hard to attain them. The best moments usually occur when a person’s body or mind is stretched to its limits in a voluntary effort to accomplish something difficult and worthwhile. Optimal experience is thus something that we make happen.”

~ Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi

There is something about working really hard for a goal that seems just slightly out of our grasp that’s powerfully attractive. There is a high that you feel when you cross the line and realize that you did it. And you remember over the last several months, weeks and even hours and minutes there were many times you thought you couldn’t do it. But then you see that you are standing on the amazing side of the finish line. AND YOU DID DO IT!

That’s the feeling I am chasing and the experiences I want my life to be about. That is what I want 40 years old to feel like.

So with the excitement, terror, and a near-vomiting feeling we look forward to Saturday!

Sunshine & Sarcasm,

G

One Comment Add yours

  1. Kelly says:

    Lowi, G will be 40? Oh no. Where has the time gone? You two be careful running your 50 miles and have fun.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.